Suche | Search

New Music and Aesthetics in the 21st Century

Vol. 3: Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf (ed.)
The Foundations of Contemporary Composing

New Music and Aesthetics in the 21st Century, Vol. 3

The goal of this volume is to appraise, on a theoretical and artistic level, the foundations of contemporary composition, whereby by “contemporary” the recent past and direct present was understood. The following reasons were decisive in choosing this topic: a) the musicological research in the domain of new music is concentrated on the now historical period from ca. 1950 to 1970; b) writings about contemporary music since the 1980s have been increasingly lacking in serious reflection and theoretical perspective; c) a clearly perceptible transformation from a First to a “Second Modernity,” obscured by the postmodern phenomenon and now awaiting serious critical appraisal, should be supported, above all in view of its artistic and creative potentials; and d) finally, the increasing pluralization of the discourse of contemporary composition demands a dialogical confrontation of divergent approaches.
In The Foundations of Comtemporary Composing, composers and musicologists, along with one philosopher and one interpreter explore the terrain of contemporary composition in a systematic fashion. These researches are presented in four sections: categories (progress, reflection, deconstruction, conceptuality), material and form (harmony, polyphony, spectralism), technology (algorithmic and electroacoustic composition, sound composition), and interdisciplinary reflection/contemporary performance practice. The contributors to this volume are the following: Mark André, Sebastian Claren, Frank Cox, Gunnar Hindrichs, Wieland Hoban, Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf, Barbara Maurer, Johannes Menke, Chris Mercer, Nicola Sani, Anne Sedes, and Steven Kazuo Takasugi.

In English, with musical examples 200 p., Pb.,
€ 22.–, 978-3-936000-14-6

order onlineInhaltsübersicht